Managing Users, Teams, and Working Copy Collaborators

Scrivito includes sophisticated yet easy to comprehend user management capabilities. The users of a Scrivito CMS are the people allowed to work with the CMS in general. By means of teams, these users can be grouped so as to reflect your company’s approach to handling responsibilities. Teams let you grant their members permissions, e.g. regarding their general kind of access to working copies.

To every working copy, any number of CMS users can be added as collaborators. Again by means of permissions, collaborators can be given access to the content of the working copy.

Managing users and teams

User and team management are available in your Scrivito CMS if editor authentication via an identity provider has been set up. For users to be able to manage users and teams, they require the “Manage users” permission. CMS administrators and Chief Editors have this permission by default.

Both can find a “Manage users” item in the main menu. After selecting this item, the “User management” dialog with its two tabs, “Users” and “Teams” is displayed:

With many users, you can find existing ones by entering their name or email address in the search field. This analogously applies to teams, which can be found by their title. To add a user or a team, click the corresponding button at the top right.

Adding a user or changing a user’s teams

To add a user to your CMS, click the “Add user” button at the top right of the “Users” tab.

When adding a user or editing an existing one, you can specify the team or teams you want the user to be a member of by selecting the corresponding checkboxes.

New users can be made known to the CMS by specifying their email address. Note that new users need to be able to log in using the identity provider you have set up in your CMS settings on your Scrivito dashboard.

New in 1.10.0

Defining teams and their permissions

Teams let you organize users by their competences. A user can be a member of any number of teams.

To add a team, click “Add team” at the top right of the “Teams” tab. To change the permissions granted to a team’s members, click the “Properties” button of the team in the list. Here’s what the individual permissions cover:

Access all working copiesAllows the team members to view all working copies, become their owner, edit the content in them, and publish them.
Manage usersThe team members are permitted to add and delete users, change their team membership, add and delete teams, and change their permissions.
Manage workflowsWorkflows will be available soon.
Publish all contentGrants the team members permission to access any working copy and publish it without the need to become its owner.
New in 1.10.0

Managing working copy collaborators

Working copies are a place where users can collaboratively work on content. Scrivito lets their respective owners invite users and assign them a role, which specifies their individual access to the working copy. To do this, click the “Collaborators” button on the “Working copies” sidebar panel.

The dialog that is then displayed allows you to add users to the working copy, or change any user’s access to it, provided that you are an owner of the working copy. Users can be given one of the following three roles:

Is owner
View and edit content, publish the working copy, delete it, add users to it, change the users’ role.

Can edit
View and edit content.

Can view
Only view content.

As a default, new users are made co-owners of the working copy, meaning that they have full control over it. If this is not what you want, change their role to “Can edit” or “Can view”, depending on whether they should be able to change content or not.

After publishing, the users who last collaborated on the working copy (except the user who published) are notified via email.